2011 National Book Award winners announced

The 2011 National Book Award winner in the Young People’s Literature category is Thanhha Lai’s Inside Out and Back Again (Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers).  You can read about the book and author as well as read an excerpt here: http://www.nationalbook.org/nba2011_ypl_lai.html.  There is also a link to view the National Book Award winners in each category.

As they have since 1998, middle and high school students participated in the National Book Awards Teen Press Conference at Scholastic, Inc.  in New York.  Hosted this year by David Levithan, the event conference was streamed live online which allowed students across the country “to experience this one-of-a-kind event right from their classrooms.”  You can watch an archived copy of the event here: http://www.nationalbook.org/nba_ypl_prconference_2011.html.

Congratulations to all the winners, but especially to Ms. Lai.  I’m thrilled that a novel in verse won!

Leave a Reply

RSS Braingle’s Teasers

  • Today's Daily Brain Teaser (Dec 13, 2017)
    Set In Stone My creator is a mystery, One that's set in stone. My origins, my history, Still totally unknown. Tests of time I've had to face, My strength and my endurance Cause of weakness; it's your race, But I'm free of all life currents. Was I a calendar, a tomb, a shrine? We've all wondered it before. We don't know... but I […]
