Summer adventure is As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth

As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth by Lynne Rae Perkins; published by Greenwillow Books, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers, New York, 2010; 352 pages.

Listen to Lynne Rae Perkins read an excerpt! http://www.teachingbooks.net/book_reading.cgi?id=4485&a=1

Download the Reading Guide from HarperCollins: http://files.harpercollins.com/PDF/ReadingGuides/0061870900.pdf

Fifteen year old Ry is anxious to get to the Summer ArchaeoTrails Program, but he’s also anxious to stay wired.  So after he disembarks from the train to find a cell phone signal, he is, well, alarmed to see the train move away, well before the estimated 40 minute break was over.  Now what?  Stranded in a desert in Montana, he starts to hike.  His feet take him to a small town where he finds Del.  Del is anxious for an adventure too.  So together they hit the road, in Del’s modified Willys, to get Ry home to Wisconsin.  When Ry’s grandfather fails to answer his phone, and Del and Ry find a mystery at home, the duo head for the Caribbean to try to locate Ry’s parents, who are on a “rekindle the marriage” cruise on a sailboat, island hopping.  The adventures of Del and Ry, perhaps a modern-day Don Quixote and Pancho (or Homer’s Odysseus?), are an extreme coming of age story with many comical twists.  As the book jacket teases: “Train. Car.  Plane.  Boat.  Feet.  He’ll get there.  Won’t he?”

This book is a must-read.  Perkins’ sense of humor takes the edge off dangerous situations this teen finds himself trying to survive.  I kept trying to categorize it; is it like Jack Kerouac’s On the Road?  Or maybe a more down-to-earth Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy?  In the end, I felt it was a genre unto itself, but with a teen twist on Homer’s Illiad or Odyssey; or even an American traveling a Quixotic  path.  At its core, this is an epic coming of age story.

I kept thinking that I’d recommend this as a read-alike for Shift (Jennifer Bradbury) and Peak (Roland Smith).  Perkins has won the Newbery Medal (for Criss Cross) and I wouldn’t be surprised if she’s up for the Michael Printz Award for this one.

4P     5Q     Grade Level: 7-11

Cover art: Train tracks, Caribbean blue water, a line art plane and a teen boy caught mid-air in his jump; might not mean much until you close the cover, but it should be just interesting enough to lure readers who haven’t heard of this book.

From Reading List: Best Books for Young Adults (YALSA) nominee 2011

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

RSS Braingle’s Teasers

  • Today's Daily Brain Teaser (Jul 20, 2017)
    How Many Mice? Mice are famous for their ability to multiply at breakneck speeds. The type of mouse we have here gives birth once a month, birthing 12 babies each time. Baby mice mature and can give birth two months after they are born. You picked up one of these cute baby mice at the pet shop and brought it home the day after it was born. In 10 months from […]
%d bloggers like this: