How to pronounce all these names!!!

Well, I just started Peter Sis’ The Wall and it got me thinking about pronouncing authors’ names in story times.  The first challenge I faced was the inimitable (and there’s probably a reason for that…) Jon Scieszka.  Even Peter Sis was a tongue tripper for some of the parent guest readers (no, he is not a girl related to your brother nor is he something you utter under your breath like “sheesh”…).  So I wondered if there’s a website dedicated to pronouncing the more difficult author names.  I still don’t know if there’s a more comprehensive one, but this page from the Horn Book’s archives left me in stitches.  Have I mentioned recently that Jon Scieszka is my kind of crazy? 😉  Who else but he and I have younger brothers with the nickname “Chuff”?

http://www.hbook.com/magazine/articles/1990_96/nov96_scieszka.asp

Leave a Reply

RSS Braingle’s Teasers

  • Today's Daily Brain Teaser (Dec 13, 2017)
    Set In Stone My creator is a mystery, One that's set in stone. My origins, my history, Still totally unknown. Tests of time I've had to face, My strength and my endurance Cause of weakness; it's your race, But I'm free of all life currents. Was I a calendar, a tomb, a shrine? We've all wondered it before. We don't know... but I […]
